Vaccine refusers make me scream

Wow. I just watched about half of a video on youtube that was pretty much the stupidest thing I’ve ever seen. I’d love to do a thorough fisking, but I’m too busy dealing with the FLAMES ON THE SIDE OF MY FACE.

To give you an idea, the video is titled “Vaccines: Medical Rape or Personal Choice.”

Yeah. ::facepalm:: Y’all can pretty much see this trainwreck coming a mile away, can’t you?

I only made it about halfway through before my head was too close to exploding, but this…person (I mean, I assume she’s human, although that depends strongly on your definition) is clearly a libertarian.

Now, there are some issues on which I agree with your average libertarian (e.g., stopping government restriction on abortion, limiting government surveillance). But if this person is at all representative, then I think we can safely say that vaccine refusal is never going to be one of those areas of agreement.

Especially when she leads with an idiotic diversion into the phrase “herd immunity” and how it implies we’re all cattle and if we are, then who owns the cattle and OMGIT’STHEILLUMINATI! (Okay, she doesn’t specifically name the Illuminati as our shadow puppet masters, but it’s strongly implied in her rhetoric.)

If that didn’t already make me angry enough, she then says pretty much outright that she doesn’t give a fuck if other people get hurt because she doesn’t get immunized because hey, her personal choice is waaaay more important than some other stupid person’s entire life, right?

If you’re guessing this is about when the flames on my face started, you’d be correct.

And then…and then, she says that parents do all kinds of things for their kids that aren’t totally healthy, so why should they be guilted into giving them vaccines? After all, we know it’s bad to start kids on a diet of hot dogs and mac and cheese, so what’s the difference.

Yes, she compared feeding your kid mac and cheese to allowing your child to get a vaccine preventable disease.

If you’re guessing this is when I had to stop the video so I wouldn’t throw my laptop across the room, you’d be correct again. Wow, it’s like you really get me!

I have a lot of trouble understanding how someone can look at the science and not see how clear it is that vaccines are safe, they’re effective, and they’re the only moral and ethical choice. (Assuming no actual medical reasons not to get the shots, of course.)

I’ll never be able to understand the kind of selfish thinking that says “Hey, who cares if somebody else’s kid gets sick. That’s not my problem.” Yes, my first responsibility is to my own kids, but that doesn’t mean I get to abrogate my responsibility to everyone else around me.

Herd immunity doesn’t mean we’re cattle. It’s a fucking metaphor! It means we all need to stick together against the predators that are out to get us, whether it’s wolves or bacteria. And I, for one, don’t intend to let the bacteria and viruses get the upper hand just because some humans are too stupid and short-sighted to see that.

(h/t to Friend of the Blog Danielle for the link. I suspect she’s getting a good chuckle out of my reaction. I’m so predictable.)

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Health, Medicine, Parenting, Quackery, Uncategorized, Vaccines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vaccine refusers make me scream

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Looks like I can skip that video. No reason to raise my blood pressure unnecessarily. 🙂

    I’m happy to see the media and celebrities finally presenting the case for vaccines. Back when McCarthy was spewing her misinformation, no one spoke up other than a few health professionals, and unfortunately, we’re not as sexy. So it’s nice to see Jimmy Fallon and others put out videos on why we need to get our kids vaccinated. Speaking of libertarians, I know Penn and Teller are, but they put out a great video of why kids should be vaccinated. It’s pretty funny (but FYI has strong language). Here’s the link if you’re interested: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RfdZTZQvuCo

Leave a Reply

