The worst anti-vaccine argument *ever* (and that’s saying a lot)

By this point, I’ve spent years reading about vaccines and vaccine opposition, so I’ve seen a great many of the arguments against childhood and adult vaccination. There are a few legitimate concerns, a great many ridiculous and irrational concerns, and a few truly INSANE concerns.

In that last category I have to place my “favorite”: “I won’t vaccinate my kids because you get better immunity from the disease.”

My hubby’s immediate reaction to that was “No, you don’t.” And y’know what? I have no idea if he’s right or not and I think it doesn’t matter. I think arguing about whether “natural” immunity is “better” misses the insanity of the statement.

Step back for a second and work with me. Why do we vaccinate? Last time I checked, we vaccinate so that we become immune and thus don’t get the disease, because being sick is bad for us. Right?

I mean, did I miss the memo that we get vaccinated because it’s fun watching small children cry? I’m pretty sure that’s not it.

So, if the point of vaccination is not getting the disease, then it doesn’t matter what kind of immunity you get from the disease because at that point you’ve already gotten it! Good for you getting fabulous immunity from influenza, but if you’ve been off work for two weeks and miserably sick in bed, I really don’t think you’re better off than me and my kids’ “unnatural” immunity.

I really really don’t understand people sometimes…

But on that note, let me take this New Year’s Eve opportunity to wish all of you a wonderful 2013. May your joy increase, you family prosper, and your enemies suffer hemorrhoids. See you on the flip side 😉

About mamamara

I'm a 40-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Medicine, Vaccines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The worst anti-vaccine argument *ever* (and that’s saying a lot)

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Anybody who’s seen an infant with Pertussis or a child with pneumococcal meningitis would change their tune quickly about wanting ‘natural’ immunity from these infections. Thank goodness we have the vaccines to protect against these and other serious infections.

Leave a Reply

