One small boy, now protected against MORE diseases!

My little guy had his 3-year checkup the other day and I was thrilled that he got a vaccine I wasn’t expecting. (He wasn’t so thrilled. In fact, he gave the nurse the most hilarious nasty look you’ve ever seen.)

Barak finished his course of PCV (pneumococcal conjugate vaccine) over a year ago, I believe, and at that time, the recommended shot protected against 7 strains of Streptococcus pneumoniae. So, y’know, yay for being protected against some forms of meningitis, bacteremia, and ear infections.

In the meantime, however, the company that makes Prevnar™ (the brand name of the vaccine Barak got) came up with a shot that protects against a total of 13 strains, and I was a bit sad we’d missed it.

But it turns out the CDC has recommended that kids who haven’t turned 6 yet can get one additional shot of the PCV-13, so yay for my little guy being protected against even more strains of that nasty bacterium. I’m all for it.

Barak did get a bit of a swollen shoulder from the shot, partially a bruise because the nurse managed to nick a blood vessel and partially a reaction to the shot, but a dose of Motrin that evening and he’s just fine. I think he might have had the same reaction to the PCV-7, now that I think about it.

I think the funniest part of the visit, though, was after Barak got his shot and was snuggled in my lap while a med student was running through the usual list of questions. Barak looked up pitifully and pointed to his shoulder, saying “Me have owie.”

The med student said, “Oh, I have something that can help with that.” And he brought out a little toy he’d been entertaining Barak with, a tube with glitter in it. “This is my magic glitter stick.” He proceeded to wave it over Barak’s shoulder. “There, does that feel better?”

Barak looked at his shoulder and up at the student. “No.”

::snerk:: Yeah, he’s my son. No fooling him with homeopathy, folks!

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Medicine, Vaccines. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One small boy, now protected against MORE diseases!

  1. dana says:

    Yea for you and Barak. Unfortunately a few of the moms in my ‘hood are doing the “I would never vaccinate my child” crap. I’m not saying anything to them, as it would just fall on deaf ears, but I’m also not letting my son play with their kids. Crazy to think that a mom would be more worried about the vaccination than they are about polio, whooping cough or mumps!

  2. Chelle says:

    You two wouldn’t let your vaccinated (which means fully protected, right?) children play with kids who don’t get that crap injected into their bodies? Obviously, there’s a flaw in logic here. Either you know vaccines aren’t 100% effective or your actions are based solely on fear and NOT on evidence or science. As a believer in science, Mamamara, you should already know that unvaccinated people pose no risk to vaccinated. It’s actually the other way around – unless, of course, you understand the bit about vaccines not actually being effective for every person, and how vaccines can shed for weeks or even months afterword…but that’s an entirely different can of worms.

    As for the whooping cough, even the vaccine pushers admit to one thing: most of the recent cases of pertussis were caused by (wait for it) the vaccine. NOT by those who didn’t vaccinate.

    Just food for thought.

    • mamamara says:

      Of *course* vaccines aren’t 100% effective! Who the hell claimed they were? But they’re a fuckton more effective at preventing disease than *not* vaccinating. If your kids are carrying pertussis, I’m not gonna take a chance that my kids might be one of the unlucky ones who didn’t get full protection. And I’m not going to take the chance that they’re going to give it to *me* before I get a chance to get my own adult booster shot!

      And pertussis caused by the vaccine? Evidence please. And I mean a news report from an actual news source that is run by actual journalists, rather than some “Natural News” site that doesn’t understand how science works. The only vaccine I know of that can cause the recipient to shed disease is smallpox and there’s a reason we don’t give that one to the general public anymore. (My husband has gotten it, as a matter of fact, and we absolutely think nobody should get it unless there’s an actual imminent danger. Ugh.)

Leave a Reply

