Bring it, Catholic League!

In a bid to sound even creepier than before, the Catholic League has announced a new campaign to “adopt” atheists. Their plan? Contact atheists and

let them know of your sincere interest in working with them to uncover their inner self. They may be resistant at first, but eventually they may come to understand that they were Christian all along.

Really? Is that so? (She asks with considerable sarcasm.) The decades of being Jewish and the decades of being a Jewish atheist coulda fooled me.

My first reaction to this campaign was not only unprintable in a family newspaper, it was unprintable in most corners of the Internet. (And if you know some of the corners of the Internet I inhabit, you know how bad my reaction must have been.) However, after reading J.T. Eberhard’s post, I find I’ve changed my mind.

Catholic League…bring it! Come here and give it your best shot. Explain to me why I should believe in a deity that has allowed priests (and rabbis and imams and even atheists, to be fair) to molest children. Explain to me why I should believe in a deity that’s doing its absolute best to hide its existence as much as possible. Explain to me why I should abandon reason and science and rational thought for a superstition created a few thousand years ago by folks who obviously had a seriously screwed up moral compass. (Dude! Have you read the Bible? It’s filled with murder, rape, genocide, torture, and all kinds of things I don’t want my kids to learn about yet.)

As J.T. says,

Members of American Atheists are a self-selected group that’s more likely to be well-read on the subject and able to shred all the lame arguments for god and have an absolute ball doing it. Feed us. We want you to. It’ll save us the effort of going to you.

Exactly! This adoption campaign will save folks like me lots of time and energy. I can’t wait to just sit back and let the ridiculous arguments come to me rather than having to roam around the Internet and find them for myself 🙂

I’m so excited! C’mon, Catholics or other Christians, do your best. I’m waiting with my various copies of the Bible (which I’ve read, thankyewverymuch), explanations of why Pascal’s wager is a load of crap, and a printout of “Atheists and Anger.”

But be warned…I don’t play nice when it comes to religion. Not even a little.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Atheism/Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bring it, Catholic League!

Leave a Reply

