Not just pox parties, but pox through the post

Just when I think the anti-vaccine crowd has plumbed the depths of idiocy, I learn about something that’s so awful that I can only boggle at their abilities.

We’re all familiar, I’m sure, with the idea of “pox parties”, where people who don’t want to give their kids the chicken pox vaccine deliberately expose their kids to someone who has chicken pox. And yeah, I consider that child abuse, so I figured that was about as bad as it could get.

But now…now it’s gotten hard to find a kid with chicken pox. Y’know, because of that pesky vaccine. ::headdesk:: So now they’re sending the chicken pox to each other THROUGH THE MAIL.

The number of ways in which this is a poor idea are so many, I can hardly count them. Not only are they now deliberately exposing their kids to a painful and potentially dangerous disease rather than giving them the vaccine, now they’re putting everybody at risk of getting the disease!

Do you have any idea the requirements to legally send infectious material through the US Postal Service or a shipping service? No? I’m sure my husband (who works in a vaccine production plant) would be happy to explain it to you. Do you have an hour? Maybe two?

It is illegal to knowingly send infectious material through the post in a random envelope. Illegal. As in, hi, you’re a potential bioterrorist!

Yes, it’s a small chance it could infect someone, but it’s a very real possibility. What if the mail carrier is immunocompromised? What if any of the dozen people who touch your mail never had chicken pox? What if the package leaks? What if it gets shredded in the machinery (c’mon, we’ve all gotten a shredded letter before) and spreads the infectious material all over everyone else’s mail?

There’s a reason that infectious material is shipped in very specific kinds of containers with very specific kinds of fail-safes. It’s to keep everyone healthy!

The selfishness of parents who would do this is so great, it can hardly be measured.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Diseases, Health, Vaccines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not just pox parties, but pox through the post

  1. Holy Cow! That just goes so far beyond what I’d consider fringe & lunatic, that I don’t have the words to express it!
    *boggle*

  2. DR Rubin says:

    As a healthcare provider this is really frightening to learn; as a parent, it just gives me the heebie-jeebies. I enjoyed looking through your posts. So nice to see a parent who not only supports vaccines but combs through the science to separate the facts from the myths.

Leave a Reply

