I admit it all the time

One of my favorite things about this blogging on WordPress thing is the ability to see what people have typed into search engines that brought them here. Now, I don’t get too many referrals that way, because, well, I’m me. I’m no PZ Myers 😉

But I think being small allows me the chance to savor search phrases like “why do people never admit their kids are annoying.”

::looks around:: I dunno, I think my kids are bloody well annoying and I say so fairly frequently. I also think everyone else’s kids are annoying. And the parents are annoying too. Y’know what, pretty much everyone is annoying sometimes.

But I strongly suspect that this person was talking about kids in public doing something they didn’t like. I dunno, making noise, running around, existing. Y’know, kid things. And I can only imagine them turning to the kids’ parents and saying “Hey, your kids are being really annoying.” And just possibly said parents didn’t respond immediately with “Goodness, I do believe you’re right! We’ll slink away and never show our faces in public again!”

(Why yes, it’s possible that I’ve occasionally read childfree communities and have Strong Opinions on the subject of the people who believe nobody should ever have children, but if they do have them, they should never go out in public to any venue. Possibly I have Strong Opinions involving the word “moron” and the phrase “kiss my ass.”)

Of course, this is me, so I have to stop and admit that it’s also possible that this person had encountered one of those parents who considers that every sound out of their child’s mouth is pure gold and their every action should be lauded by everyone.

Yeah, we’ve all dealt with those, haven’t we? The parents who look on with adoring smiles as their kid smears peanut butter on the floor, pushes our kids down, and climbs on the tables. The ones who would never ever admit that little Susie is being annoying or even that little Susie is doing anything wrong.

If that’s the case, I have a lot more sympathy for my poor searcher. I’m more than willing to admit that my kids can be incredibly annoying. I do my best to mitigate the impact on other people, although it’s impossible to keep them from ever disturbing anyone.

Well, whatever that person was searching for…I highly doubt they found the answer on my blog. Sorry, anonymous! I hope you found something else that interested you 🙂

About mamamara

I'm a 40-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

