Expensive babysitting with snack

Tomorrow is the sort-of official start of my little guy’s school career. Tomorrow, we meet the preschool teachers and check out his classroom, while Thursday is the first day.

I remember Yael’s first day, when all the other mothers were standing around, dabbing their eyes and bemoaning their babies growing up. Me? I whipped out my laptop and said “Dude! An entire hour to get some work done without being interrupted? Woot!”

(Yes, I may possibly have actually uttered the word “Woot.” Don’t judge me.)

I just can’t quite manage to get myself worked up over preschool. It’s two days a week, 2 3/4 hours a day. Per hour it costs about the same as Anna the awesome babysitter, but it comes with a snack and some education, so I figure it’s a good deal.

I mean, I’m excited for Barak, this is a big change, etc. and so on, but the tears just aren’t there. He’s going to have a great time and I’m finally going to have some time to work without having to put on Dinosaur Train or Toot and Puddle.

Not that there’s anything wrong with those shows, but it’ll be nice to work to grownup music instead ๐Ÿ˜€

Apparently I’m just insufficiently sentimental! But I can live with that, because my wonderful grownup boy is going to go to school. Good for him. It’s only going to get more awesome from here.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Expensive babysitting with snack

  1. debc says:

    The Boy starts preK tomorrow, which at his school is a full day, so I’m waffling between a little more emotion that “woot!” It’s an honest to goodness BIG DAY for him. Hope Barack likes his school, and you enjoy your couple hours to yourself!

  2. Beth C. says:

    You say “woot;” I cry. We’re both good moms! I do feel a LOT better about leaving Jack at preschool knowing (okay, assuming) that he will enjoy it and thrive there in a way that Alexander did not. I don’t think you’re insufficiently sentimental; I think I am probably overly sentimental! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I admit I’d love to just bring ’em all home and homeschool! We’ll see what the future brings… Good luck to Barak this year!

    • mamamara says:

      ::grin:: And good luck to Alexander and Jack!

      I’m impressed by people who *can* homeschool, because there is no question in my mind, there would be a death in my family if we tried it. Whose death is hard to tell, but somebody wouldn’t survive the experience!

      I mean, I’m not a gigantic homeschool fan for various reasons, but the ability to not strangle your children during the process is pretty impressive ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

