The dog tired days of summer

Why do they call it the dog days anyway? Huh. In my case, I’m definitely dog tired. Dog tired of heat and humidity, dog tired of whiny children (wait, that’s all the time), and dog tired of not getting enough sleep.

There are so many things that get in the way of our sleep: children, pets, work, housework, reading, the Internet, phone calls…it’s a wonder we get any sleep at all!

I must be honest. I wanted this to be a deeply researched post about the question of kids and sleep. I was going to Google the extremes of the issue and give you quotes and citations from attachment parenting all the way to the most diehard cry-it-out partisan.

But do you know what? It turns out I’m too bloody tired. Irony, thy name is Mommy.

I don’t happen to have a dog in this fight, since we’ve done both co-sleeping (Barak) and cry it out (Yael). I would say they worked equally badly. ::shrug::

I suspect that as with so many things, it depends on your kid what works best, or least badly. (To be fair, Yael generally sleeps by herself in her own bed these days. It only took 6 1/2 years.)

As my husband lies down in Barak’s bed with him for the millionth night in a row, I remind myself of the wise words of so many pediatricians: Kids hardly ever graduate high school in diapers and sleeping in their parents’ bed.

I’m going to cling to that.

Now if all my work could just magically complete itself, the dishes jump into the dishwasher, and the floors vacuum themselves, I’d probably be all caught up on sleep, right?

How are y’all sleeping these days? Are any of you disciplined enough to get things done and then put yourself in bed at a reasonable hour? Or do you finish work and then waste time typing up blog posts and reading LOLcats?

About mamamara

I'm a 40-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Health, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

