Clingy boy is clingy

I know that children are not all alike. I do, really. So why am I so surprised when Barak is different than Yael? For example, he’s a clingy little guy, while Yael was very much in the “Why are you still here, Mommy?” mode from a very young age.

This forgetting is inconvenient when I (say) make plans that involve dropping Barak off at the library with a babysitter for an hour. It was a clever plan! Unfortunately, I woke up this morning and thought, “Oh crap, if I do that, he’s going to shriek so loud they get kicked out of the library.” ::headdesk::

So, either I call my babysitter right this moment (seriously, as I type this) and tell her I’m not going to pick her up today, or else she has to sit in the tiny cramped waiting room with Barak for an hour. While he tries to get into the room where I’m trying to talk to a psychologist. Argl.

And I’m worrying about preschool with Barak much more than I did with Yael. First day of preschool she gave me a hug and a slightly pathetic look (completely fake, let me assure you) and went off to play with Jasper, barely noticing me leaving. While all the other mothers were a-weepin’ and a-wailin’ about their darlings, I whipped out my laptop and got some work done, smug in my self-satisfaction about my independent daughter.

(Don’t you hate when you realize you were smug for no good reason? I sure do.)

Barak…will be different. I strongly suspect there will be tears. Lots of tears. And shrieking.

Every year, there seems to be one kid who cries until they throw up every morning for a few weeks. ::sighs:: Have I mentioned that Barak tends to throw up if he cries too long? Yeah.

I love my son very much. And when he runs up and says “Mommy!” and throws his arms around me, it’s the greatest feeling in the entire world. I know I’m going to miss the clinginess when he’s in high school and doesn’t want to be seen anywhere near me. But right now, it’s a little frustrating.

Well, I’m off to pick up the babysitter. Wish us luck…’cause we’re gonna need it.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

