Irony is a case of chicken pox

Chicken pox. Barak has chicken pox. Un-friggin-believable! ::laughs:: I believe this is what we in the business refer to as “seriously ironic.”

But y’know, I’m gonna skip cursing the glare and be thankful instead that he was vaccinated, thus making his chicken pox minor and worth laughing about. After the doctor told me what the 15 or so weird scabby swollen things on his arms and legs were, I looked at them again. And then I imagined them all over his body. I imagined them on the soles of his feet and in his mouth and in his eyes and throat.

And then I was once again immensely grateful for vaccines. Because rather than soothing an itchy miserable child, I bought him some candy as a reward for good behavior and we played with his Knuffle Bunny on the couch, then had lunch, and now he’s napping.

Of course, I did make a few calls and e-mails to make sure people we spent a lot of time with are aware. No reason they should make the same mistake we did and drag an infectious kid all over the place, right?

But still, I’m remarkably grateful to live when we do, when chicken pox is rare enough that nobody who looked at Barak recognized it, the vaccine kept his case mild, and antibiotics are readily available to deal with secondary infections.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Diseases, Health, Medicine, Parenting, Vaccines. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Irony is a case of chicken pox

  1. DebC says:

    Poor Barak!!!! Definitely glad for working vaccines!

  2. Chris says:

    I love your blog. I am very glad that his chicken pox is minor. I believe some people (on the Panic Virus) are very naive and have no idea what life is like with full blown chicken pox. My kids all got it in 1994, a year before the vaccine was available. Which I wrote about here:
    http://sciencebasedparenting.com/2010/11/01/post-halloween-pox/

    • mamamara says:

      I agree that some of the commenters there are naive. And seriously, did that one guy actually use WorldNet Daily as a source? Home of the “Obama isn’t an American citizen” nonsense? I dunno, there’s probably another WND, but that’s the first one that comes to mind.

      • Chris says:

        I was tempted to use the name we gave it back on UseNet newsgroups: Wing Nut Daily. But I did not want to cause too much contention. So I played dumb and just asked what it was.

      • mamamara says:

        I usually call it WorldNut Daily (which I got from Ed Brayton’s blog over on Scienceblogs.com). Same principle. Utterly wacko site.

Leave a Reply

