Go the (you know what) to sleep. No, I mean the annoying adults, not the kids.

Considering my constant stress over getting my kids to bed, there’s no way I could resist talking about the forthcoming book “Go the F**k to Sleep”, right?

The hubby and I can’t wait to buy a copy, because “Go the fuck to sleep” is pretty much the most common thought in this household on a daily basis. And I think it will make us feel better to be reminded that we’re not the only parents struggling with this issue 🙂 Also, the book looks like it will be hilarious.

The best part of the forthcoming release of this book, however, is reading the reactions of the people who Just. Don’t. Get it. You know who they are: the ones who are horrified that anyone would read such bad language to their children (it’s not a kids’ book!). Or the ones who are aghast that anyone could ever think such things about their darling angels (heaven forfend!).

Man, I hate people like that. Y’know, the sanctimonious types who believe that just because you love your kids more than anything else in the world, you should always like them too.

Am I a bad mommy if I admit that I don’t always like my kids? Sometimes they’re whiny and annoying and drive me up the wall. I still love them, but I think it’s healthy for parents to be able to admit that parenting is not unmitigated joy.

Filled with joy? Oh yes. When my son runs up to me and snuggles against me, murmuring “Mama mama.” Or when my daughter settles down next to me on the couch so she can read a book to me, or vice versa. These are moments of great joy I wouldn’t trade for anything.

But I find the idea that we can never admit to any weakness a bit…unsettling. I first encountered it during pregnancy, of course, when I found that any negative comments about the experience of being pregnant were met by a chorus of disapproval. (Not everyone, of course, but enough that I was upset.) There was an apparent feeling that pregnant women had to be positive and uplifted and joyful or else…well, I never found out what else, but whatever it was, it was bad.

Of course, once the kid is here, certain people react the same to any negative comments about your kids (although significantly fewer than with pregnancy, thank goodness, or I would have killed someone by now). Don’t admit you’re looking forward to school starting in the fall or these folks will ask why you had kids! Don’t admit you’re tired and cranky by the end of the day, either!

Fortunately, those people are becoming fewer and farther between and society is coming to the realization that it’s not healthy for parents to pretend to be shiny and happy all the time. It’s okay to sometimes think “go the fuck to sleep” to your kids, really. Especially if it keeps you from saying it aloud!

(Now if I can just convince people that having a bad attitude about pregnancy is not tantamount to child abuse…)

About mamamara

I'm a 40-year-old, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Parenting, Pregnancy, Satire. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Go the (you know what) to sleep. No, I mean the annoying adults, not the kids.

  1. Beth C. says:

    Like. Wow. Facebook has made me so lazy.

    • mamamara says:

      FB has that effect, I’ve found!

      • Beth C. says:

        Now I demand that blogs have a “like” button! LOL! Actually, I am doubly lazy because most of the time I just check my Email and FB on my phone, where I am certainly too lazy to actually TYPE anything!

  2. debc says:

    It’s like I tell my own daughter… I will always love her; I just might not always like the things she does.

    That’s honesty, because let’s face it, no one’s kids are perfect. If any of us were, we wouldn’t be human. And raising kids, especially as a stay-at-home/work-at-home parent, is hard, exhausting work. Yes, it’s rewarding work… all the cuddles and snuggles, kisses and hugs are great for the soul and make you feel all warm and happy. But they are counter balanced by the whining and yelling, the tantrums and the “I don’t to eat this! I want to do that! IwantwhatIwantwhenIwantitandyou’remyslavesoyou’regoingtogiveittome NOW!” Not to mention all the fighting with siblings or play date friends, misbehavior in stores, and blurting out things that can only embarrass their parents at the worst times.

    Thankfully, kisses and hugs, cuddles and “I love you, Mama” do make up for a lot of things.

    But we drove our own parents crazy in the same ways, too. It’s the circle of life. Some day, our little ones will understand because they’ll be the parents of their own little bundles of… er, joy?

    • mamamara says:

      They will have their own bundles of joy and we will laugh our asses off when they deal with these same things…just as my mother is laughing at me 😀

      Have I ever told the story of the time my parents invited the rabbi and his wife over for tea and I proudly pointed at their wedding picture? “That’s when I was in my mommy’s tummy!” I informed everyone. ::snicker:: (Note: I was actually born three years after their wedding :D)

  3. Gripey Dad says:

    “Am I a bad mommy if I admit that I don’t always like my kids? Sometimes they’re whiny and annoying and drive me up the wall.”

    You are fantastic, there is so much pressure to be seen as fantastic, unflappable parents nowdays. Bugger that I say! Sometimes I want to hang my boy from the ceiling by his ankles, that doesn’t mean I would ever do it!! But, I want the leniency to be able to at least threaten it without retribution!

    All power to you, by the way, I’ll be runnin’ for a copy of the book to, looks absolutely hilarious.

    Cheers

    Gripey Dad

    • mamamara says:

      I occasionally threaten to send my daughter to live with the wolves. I scowl and ask her if she knows where I can find a nearby pack of wolves. Sometimes, but only sometimes, this makes both of us laugh and defuses whatever we were fighting about.

      I’m sure there are people who are aghast that I might say that to my precious darling. ::snort:: Well, they’ve never dealt with her at 10 pm when she’s been refusing to go to sleep for two hours.

Leave a Reply

