Black women are still beautiful and Kanazawa is still a poopyhead

Thanks to PZ Myers, I’ve found two awesome takedowns of Satoshi Kanazawa. I’m glad to see other psychologists pointing out his bad science. That’s how science works, y’all 🙂

First, we have a brilliant idea: this blogger downloaded the same data and analyzed it. Quelle surprise! We find the ratings weren’t objective at all aaaaand…wait for it…

Focusing just on Wave 4, it is obvious that among the women in the sample, there is no difference between the ethnicities in terms of ratings of physical attractiveness. [italics his]

It’s even better than I thought! I would have expected to find, say, that some interviewers rated all the black women ugly and white women beautiful, or some such. But it turns out that when you look only at the data for when these ladies were adults and not teenagers…it all averages out in the wash!

And here’s someone critiquing a) his statistics (which I’m not qualified to comment on!), and b) why Kanazawa was asking a bad science question.

Kanazawa asks “Why are black women less attractive?”

From a scientific perspective, the only question his data has any chance of ever convincingly addressing would be “Why do the American interviewers RATE Black women as less attractive?” These are two substantially different questions, and Kanazawa asks the scientifically untenable of the two.

I love seeing good takedowns of bad science. Hooray to the good bloggers at Psychology Today for stepping up to the plate!

Sadly, there’s still more pseudoscience over at Psychology Today and I might tackle more of it this week if I can stomach it. (Fandom folks: Remember SurveyFail? Yeah, I’m thinking about it.)

About mamamara

I'm a 40-year-old, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Process of Science, Psychology, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

