Missing: one brain. If found, please return.

Today’s the Mental Health Month Blog Party and I can never resist a good party 😀 So…yeah. Mental health is highly underrated, I think. As are mental health professionals and psychotropic medications.

So if you know me at all, you probably know I have panic disorder with a side helping of social phobia thrown in just for fun. And then there was the postpartum anxiety. Whee.

You may or may not know that if it were not for the help of several mental health professionals (a psychologist, two separate psychiatrists, and briefly a clinical social worker), I doubt very much that I would still be alive.

Today I want to celebrate the fact that I got the help I needed, which has included talk therapy, two selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, and two benzodiazepenes. And because I got that help, I’m here to sit on my couch and listen to my children roughhousing with their father in the other room.

It can be incredibly difficult to admit you need help and for some people (like me) there’s an idea that if you need medication you’re “weak”. That you should be able to overcome depression by “cheering up” or overcoming anxiety by “not worrying so much.” Believe me, if it was that easy, everyone would do it 😉

Some people need therapy to change the way they think about their problems, some need medicine, and some need both. There’s nothing to be ashamed of. The analogy I’ve seen is to diabetes. Nobody thinks twice about getting help in lifestyle changes or medication for diabetes, so why should a malfunctioning brain be any different?

For information on various disorders and treatments, head on over to the APA HelpCenter. The National Institute of Mental Health (part of the National Institutes of Health) also has good information.

If you need help…get it. Don’t waste your life being too depressed or manic or anxious to really live.

Mental Health Blog Party Badge

(Obdisclaimer: This particular blog party is sponsored by the organization that pays me as a consultant to work on their website. However, they neither paid me to write this post, nor work on yourmindyourbody.org. I have worked on the HelpCenter pages, though.)
About mamamara

I'm a 40-year-old, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Missing: one brain. If found, please return.

  1. Angel says:

    Thank you for sharing your story! I believe that the best way to help people feel more comfortable talking about mental health, and take their own mental well-being seriously, is by hearing others talk about it so openly. Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Mental Health Month Blog Party 2011 – Round Up | Your Mind Your Body

Leave a Reply

