Hoping to hear about an arrest

In my copious free time yesterday, I put together a series of e-mails about my concerns over the continued freedom of dangerous quacks Mark and David Geier.

Sure, Geier Senior has had his Maryland medical license pulled, but he’s licensed in plenty of other states and besides…Geier Junior has been practicing medicine without a license for years, so why should this action inconvenience them?

I e-mailed (1) my state representatives to ask if they could pressure the attorney general to look into their actions, (2) the other doctors affiliated with the ASD Centers to ask them to condemn the dangerous and unscientific work being done, and (3) the Maryland Autism Commission to ask them to remove David Geier from their ranks. (I couldn’t figure out who to contact at the attorney general’s office, but I’ll keep looking.)

Dude! David Geier doesn’t have any kind of medical credentials but he’s the “diagnostician” representative on the Maryland Autism Commission! That’s a disservice to kids in Maryland, let me tell you.

I don’t know if anyone is listening, but I’m talking. And I’m going to continue to talk so long as bad science is being used to treat kids who deserve better. Not to mention parents who deserve better.

Because…here’s the thing: I can’t truly imagine how anxiety-inducing it must be to have a kid with autism. I’m lucky to have two basically healthy kids. But I do know that if you’re worried about your kid, you’re going to try whatever it takes to make them better. And people like the Geiers prey on that; they know you’ll do whatever you can, pay whatever you can, try whatever you can.

And they cloak their quackery in pseudoscientific terms. They make it sound good. They talk about “mercury toxicity” (ooooh, mercury, scary) and “androgen levels” and administering a “pharmaceutically effective amount of at least one luteinizing hormone releasing hormone composition.”

But you know what? Their “Lupron protocol” is a load of crap. (Now, chelation therapy is a true medical treatment…for heavy metal poisoning. If your kid has swallowed a metric buttload of lead paint, we can talk about chelation.)

Do I sound mad? Yeah, I am. I’m mad because the Geiers are crooks and thieves and liars and I want them to suffer like the kids they held down to give painful and useless injections. Then again, I’m vindictive like that.

But I’ll settle for some jail time. Got my fingers crossed.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Medicine, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

