Times Square doesn’t need anti-vaccine lies

I’ll probably have a real post up later, but I wanted to help boost the signal that CBS is preparing to air advertisements (“PSAs”) from anti-vaccine groups. If you (like me) think that this is a poor idea, please e-mail info@cbsoutdoors.com and jeremy.murphy@cbs.com and let them know.

If you use Twitter, Skepchick is suggesting you Tweet @CBSOutdoor and use #VaxCBS. (I do not tweet or twitter. At least not in public.)

Below is the letter I sent if you’d like a suggestion about what to say. And you can find more suggested text here.

Hello,

I’ve heard that CBS will be playing ads featuring misinformation by the anti-vaccine group the National Vaccine information Center. These ads are misleading and potentially dangerous. Vaccine-preventable illnesses are returning, and there currently is an ongoing measles epidemic in Minnesota. Pertussis cases (and deaths) hit a record high in California in 2010. Much of this increase in disease is due to unfounded fears about vaccination, pushed by NCVI, Mercola, and even your own Sharyl Attkisson.

On behalf of the children who will die, go deaf, or become infertile if we see a return of measles, mumps, rubella, diptheria, whooping cough, or polio, I’m begging you to not air these ads.

Mara Greengrass

About mamamara

I'm a 40-year-old, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Medicine, Vaccines. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

