The Journal of Are You [expetive deleted] Kidding

I’ve already forgotten how I found this, but I’m officially in love with The Journal of Are You Fucking Kidding. Their motto: “JAYFK: Bringing you the finest in sarcasm, satire & scientific shit-talkin’.”

This journal is for all those times you read about some supposed science and your immediate response is “Are you fucking kidding?” (This happens to me rather frequently.)

Love, I tell you. Love at first sight. Especially because the lead post right now is smacking down on evolutionary psychology. And there’s another piece on drug smugglers using a trebuchet. Just remember, ladies and gents, trebuchets make everything better!

They have a UK affiliate, of course, AYTPQ. (That’s Are You Taking the Piss Quarterly, of course.) And there are plenty of macros and other hilarious images. Like Space Rock Confuses Bill O’Reilly. And plenty of mock covers.

This journal, er, blog could have been created specifically to make me happy. Snark! Science! Rudeness to bad science that desperately deserves it! Okay, folks, I have a new goal: Get published in JAYFK. Can I do it? Have I got the snark for it? Who knows, but I’m sure I’ll have a lot of fun trying 😉

I’ve also just started reading a much  more serious (and not science-related) blog called Scholar as Citizen. It’s too early to tell if I’m going to love it, but this historian just kicked up some serious crap by pointing out in a NYT op-ed that union stripping measures in Wisconsin are taking away things that the Republican party championed once upon a time.

In response, naturally the Wisconsin GOP has begun a witch hunt of this guy. It’s a really fascinating story involving questions of academic freedom, the Freedom of Information Act, open records, and intimidation tactics.

To bring this back to science, however…I haven’t had a chance to digest the whole story of William Cronon and his op-ed, but I feel that somewhere here is a parallel to “Climategate”, which claimed to use a couple of professors’ e-mails to prove they were lying about climate change. (Spoiler: They weren’t.)

And on that note, back to trying to get the smell of my son’s vomit out of the couch. Isn’t the life of a work-at-home mom exciting? And smelly? (Answers: No and yes.)

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Process of Science, Satire, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journal of Are You [expetive deleted] Kidding

  1. RadiumYttrium says:

    Thanks for the kind words! Hope you’ll submit to JAYFK 🙂

Leave a Reply

