Link roundup: The return!

  • Nuclear power in Japan: A thoughtful and careful explanation of the nuclear reactor-related events in Japan over the past few days, as well as information on reactor design and safety procedures. (H/T to Jill for the link.)
  • Saturday evening rant, iodine edition: In case you wondered why the news keeps saying the Japanese government is going to distribute iodine pills…here’s the answer.
  • An adaptive fairytale with no happy ending: Ooooh, I always love a good solid takedown of evolutionary psychology and this one is tasty indeed. Did homophobia evolve to protect families or children? (Spoiler: No. No, it didn’t.) Fun to read and informative too.
  • Sesame Family Robinson: I’m linking to the entire blog here, because it’s written by a married couple who work on Sesame Street: the husband is a puppeteer and the wife is a writer. They also have adorable twin daughters. If you want to learn about how the show is made and what it’s like to have your kids prefer somebody else’s puppet to yours, this is the place to do it 😀
  • A preliminary psychology of homework: I was enjoying this summary of research about where kids like to do homework, but at the end, the author points out the data is 10 years old 😦 I’m not sure the data’s worth much, but the idea is interesting.
  • And the most racist study of the year goes to…: Seriously? Seriously? Correlations between average temperature and IQ? Are they kidding me? I think they’ve failed to control for a few tiny issues. As people note in the comments, there’s a little matter of genes vs. environment. And the inability of IQ tests to test for many kinds of intelligence. And the racist aspects of saying smarter people come from colder climates. And the way this makes me want to bang my head repeatedly against a wall.

Okay, based on my reaction to that last one, I might have to get around to writing about race and IQ someday, hmm? (Talk about flashbacks, that takes me way back to my anthro days.) Or maybe I’ll talk multiple intelligences, which is seriously neat.

Or maybe I’ll really be ambitious and write about why evolutionary psychology is frequently a waste of time and money.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Medicine, Parenting, Psychology, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Link roundup: The return!

  1. Beth C. says:

    Multiple intelligences gets my vote! 🙂

  2. mamamara says:

    I’m definitely gonna have to abuse my privileges as an APA employee if I want to do that one. But it’s definitely an interesting topic.

Leave a Reply

