Happy Darwin Day!

Hooray! Today is Darwin Day 🙂 I wish I could attend an event, but I have too much work today. However, check out the site for events in your area. I know a bunch of churches and synagogues are doing Evolution Weekends, which is an amazingly cool idea.

But in any case, happy 202nd birthday to Charles Darwin, one of my heroes. Without Alfred Russel Wallace and Charles Darwin, so much of science would be beyond our understanding.

And their bravery in proposing their theory, which they knew would bring them under attack from religion, is an inspiration to us all. So, even if you can’t attend a Darwin Day event, today’s a good day to read some science.

Maybe check out Scientific American’s page or Science News or Scienceblogs.com. I also found a nice summary of Darwin’s life and scientific work here. (It even mentions Boucher de Perthes, which makes me happy for complicated reasons involving fanfiction and Jules Verne. ::coughs::)

So, happy Darwin Day to you and yours 🙂

About mamamara

I'm a 40-year-old, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

