Reliable consumer medical information

We’ve all done it: Our kid gets some weird rash and we start Googling and the next thing we know, we’re convinced they’re dying of beri-beri or bubonic plague. And that leads to your doctor giving you The Look.

When it comes to your health, you’re better off starting with one of these sources:

FamilyDoctor.org: A great site for overall info, but I adore the search by symptom feature. This is where you should start when your kid gets a rash!

The Mayo Clinic: C’mon, you’ve heard of them, right? The ones in Minnesota? They know their stuff, and they know how to present it in a useful fashion, too.

Medline Plus: Information on diseases and drugs from the National Library of Medicine. I love this site, because it links to all kinds of specialty medical organizations, but you know those links have been vetted.

There are some other sites I use (the Merck Manual, for instance), but those three are my go-to sites for the cough that won’t quit or the weird rash on Barak’s leg.

Okay, I’ve done a lot of medical stuff, I hope to post some other science-y stuff soon.

About mamamara

I'm a 40-somethng, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Diseases, Medicine, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reliable consumer medical information

  1. Jenne says:

    National Library of Medicine has a handy guide to evaluating health information online:
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthywebsurfing.html

Leave a Reply

