Board finally acts on David Geier

Hooray! I’m pleased to say that, according to the Baltimore Sun, the Maryland Board of Physicians has charged David Geier with practicing medicine without a license and they’re taking him off the Commission on Autism. (Apparently he’s taken a few graduate courses. Oh well then. I’m sure he’s qualified to order lab tests and prescribe Lupron, then. Not!)

And the last sentence of the article made me actually squeal with joy: “Some of the other nine states where Mark Geier holds medical licenses have also begun proceedings against the doctor.”

Yes! My fear was that Maryland would kick them out and they’d just flee to some other state and continue to torture autistic children. But maybe not 🙂

For background on the Geiers, you can’t do better than Trine Tsouderos’ Chicago Tribune piece from 2009.

(H/t to Seth Mnookin for this wonderful news!)

About mamamara

I'm a 50-something, work-at-home mother of two. I'm pro-vaccine, pro-medicine, pro-science, and an avid reader of information about all of the above, and I want to combine my love for my children with my love for science. So here we are!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Board finally acts on David Geier

  1. Liz Ditz says:

    More reason for applauding Maryland: Gov. O’Malley removes him from autism commission .

    Still like to know who pulled which strings to get this highly-unqualified person on the commission in the first place.

    • mamamara says:

      WHOOHOO! And yes, I’d really like to know how he got there in the first place…I wonder if the BSun is planning to investigate that? I doubt it.

Leave a comment